Home / Sports / Valedictory function of 15 days skiing course held at Gulmarg

Valedictory function of 15 days skiing course held at Gulmarg

Gulmarg/Srinagar, February 12 (Scoop News) –  Valedictory function of the 15 days skiing course was held at Gulmarg by Tyndale Biscoe & Mallinson School. The Chief Guest on the occasion was Chief Executive Officer, Gulmarg Development Authority, Mehmood Ahmed Shah and Guest of Honour was OSD with Divisional Commissioner & Head Disaster Management, Kashmir, Aamir Ali.


Others who participated in function, included Rahul Kaul, Administrator, TBS School, Shafat Jeelani, Executive Engineer MED, Kashmir, Gulzar Ahmed and Irshad Ahmed, renowned skiers from Tangmarg. Around 120 students, both boys and girls from Tyndale Biscoe, Mallinson, Presentation Convent School, TBS Tangmarg, Kashmir Valley School Humhama and DPS participated in the skiing course. The students were taught in four batches of Basic, Intermediate, Advanced and Refresher courses. Boys and Girls were judged separately, as per the courses. The ski-trainers were Mohammed Ashraf, Ms. Ayesha Manzoor, Mehraj-u-din, Manzoor Ahmed, Nayeem Ahmed, Mubashir Ahmed, Bashir Ahmed, Tafazul Nayeem Khan, Asim Bazaz and Mohammed Tariq. Three International instructors Miss Ally from Canada, Marc and Stephen from USA also guided the students. A cultural programme was presented by the children on the occasion. Medals were given to the winners.


In Basic course Slalom boys, Sahil Manzoor, Sheikh Waleed Gani and Mir Risalat Nabi stood first, second and third. In girls basic Slalom, Arsheya Bazaz, Zara Hashim and Zahal Zehra stood first, second and third. The Intermediate Slalom winners were Anwar Khursheed first, Muneeb Manzoor second and Sheikh Mohammed Sarmad third, while in girls Aqsa Mir stood first, Syedah Asfah second and Muskaan Latief third. The advance course of Slaloms was won by Faheem Irfan, while Akib Hafeez stood second and Mohammed Hasnain Ali and Arsalan Iqbal shared third positions. In girls Iqra Mehraj was first, Sama Hanief second and Zainab Ashai third.


In Techniques events the first prizes for boys in each category were won by Sheikh Sajid, Sufyan Mustafa, Shaheen Fayaz, while in girls Aqsa Mir, Iqra Mehraj and Arsheya Bazaz stood first. The second positions in boys went to Arsalan, Iqbal, Sarmad and Saqib Reyaz, while in girls Aisha Bashir, Basra Jehagir and Zara Hashim stood second. The third positions for boys went to Huzaif Manzoor, Anwar Khurshid and Mir Risalat, while for girls the third positions went to Zainab Ashai, Tabinda Aftab and Nahal Zehra.